Home News Glasgow Hosts Nationals 2010

Glasgow Hosts Nationals 2010

Glasgow Touch are proudly hosting the 4th annual Scottish Touch National Championships this year at Dalziel Park in Motherwell. This year's competition will see men's and women's teams from Aberdeen, Stirling, Glasgow, and Edinburgh compete for the title of national champion. Unlike most one-day tournaments in Scotland, the National Championships feature international regulation-length matches on full-size pitches. The Nationals also mark the beginning of the selection process for the 2011 Scotland squad.

Last year's Nationals saw a solid showing from both the men's and women's teams, with a particularly strong performance from the combined Glasgow-Stirling women's team, which came second only to a very strong Edinburgh team. This year, in a testament to the growing popularity of Touch in Glasgow, Glasgow will be entering its own teams in both the men's and women's divisions. These teams hope to build on last year's performance and strengthen Glasgow's growing position as a competitive side in Scottish Touch.

The tournament will run from 10 to 6 on Sunday, the 5th of September, at Dalziel Park.

The following players have been selected to represent Glasgow.

Josephine ArmstrongStephen Bennett
Gillian BondConnor Davis
Elaine ClarkCameron Day
Anita FlemingJohn Dunne
Louise HeritageDominic Geraghty
Jamie HolbrookChris Grady
Rachel HoweGavin Hogarth
Nicola JobsonDouglas Johnson
Kirsty MacIntyreStuart Johnson
Laura MurphyRuban Kanth
Nicola StaffordDouglas MacRae
Nikki WalkerDouglas Mannix
 Jason Mannix
 Ryan Miemczyk
 Adrian O'Sullivan

Team Coaches: Gavin Hogarth/Douglas Mannix (Men), Douglas Johnson (Women)